144-Hour Visa-Free Transit in China

China’s 144-hour visa-free transit policy is carried out in Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Liaoning, Chengdu, Xiamen, Qingdao, Wuhan, and Kunming as well as Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei, to facilitate international travelers. It allows passengers from 53 countries…

Product Details

China’s 144-hour visa-free transit policy is carried out in Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Liaoning, Chengdu, Xiamen, Qingdao, Wuhan, and Kunming as well as Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei, to facilitate international travelers. It allows passengers from 53 countries or regions to transit in either Shanghai-Jiangsu-Zhejiang region, Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region, Liaoning Province or Chinese cities of Chengdu, Xiamen, Qingdao, Wuhan, and Kunming for no more than 144 hours (6 days) without holding a visa.

Guangdong is likely to implement the 144-hour visa-free transit as well.


Who can enjoy China 144-hour visa exemption? – List of 53 Qualified Countries


—  24 Schengen Agreement Countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


—  15 Other European Countries: Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia (FYROM), Albania, Belarus, Monaco


—  6 American Countries: the United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile


—  2 Oceania Countries: Australia, New Zealand


—  6 Asian Countries: Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar


* The same as countries enjoying 72-Hour Visa-Free Transit.



What is an eligible transit route?

A → B: one of the allowed areas in Mainland China → C


—  A and C should be different countries or regions out of Mainland China.
* Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan can be the Destination A or C, so the route “UK-Shanghai-Hong Kong” is acceptable as the typical route “US-Hangzhou-Japan”.


—  B refers to only one of the following three areas in China, and you cannot have a cross-area visa-free tour among the three:


1. Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang

2. Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei

3. Liaoning


* Key point: The international flights flying in and out of China – from A to B and from B to C – should be non-stop, without a stopover anywhere in Mainland China.



×  UK – Guangzhou – Shanghai – Hong Kong

×  US – Beijing – Shanghai – France


Note: Both of Beijing and Shanghai are eligible for this policy, but you can only have one between the original country and the third country.


√  US – Dalian – South Korea

√  Singapore – Shanghai – Hangzhou – Malaysia


Note: Shanghai and Hangzhou (provincial capital of Zhejiang) are within one visa-free area.




In which Chinese cities can I get a visa exemption for 144 hours?


1. Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang


Shanghai:  All air, sea and railway ports, including Pudong Airport, Hongqiao Airport, Shanghai Port International Cruise Terminal, Wusong Passenger Transport Center and all railway stations.


Hangzhou of Zhejiang:  Hangzhou Xiaoshan Airport


Nanjing of Jiangsu:  Nanjing Lukou Airport


Entry and Exit Ports


Passengers can enter and leave from any of the above ports. Eg: One can take a cruise to Shanghai and leave by air from Hangzhou or Nanjing.


Areas Allowed to Stay


Passengers can move around Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang. If one have to go to other cities or can’t leave within 144 hours, he/she should go to a nearby Public Security Bureau to apply for a visa



2. Beijing, Tianjin and Hebe



Beijing: Capital International Airport, Beijing West Railway Station


Tianjin: Binhai International Airport, Tianjin International Cruise Home Port


Shijiazhuang of Hebei: Zhengding International Airport


Qinghuangdao of Hebei: Qinhuangdao Port

Passengers are allowed to enter and exit from any of these ports and move around the three places



3. Liaoning Provinc



Dalian: Zhoushuizi International Airport


Shenyang: Taoxian International Airport


Passengers are allowed to enter and exit from either of the two ports and move around the whole province



4. Chengdu: Shuangliu International Airpor



5. Xiamen: Gaoqi International Airport and sea port



6. Wuhan: Tianhe International Airpor



7. Kunming: Changshui International Airpor



8. Qingdao: Liuting International Airport and sea port



9. Guangdong – coming soo



The 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit in Guangdong is just about to take effect, and passengers will be allowed to enter via Guangzhou Airport, Shenzhen Airport, or Jieyang Airport, and travel within Guangdong Province



Other Cities Promissing to Adopt the Scheme: Chongqing, Xi’a





How do I request the 144-hour TWOV China: transit without visa?

6 Steps to Apply for 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit:

1.  Inform the carrier when boarding

2.  Fill an Arrival/Departure Card

3.  Apply for the 144-hour visa-free stay permit upon arrival

4.  Claim the luggage

5.  Go through the customs

6.  Leave the airport






Note for Step 3:


Upon arrival, find the 144-hour visa-free counter at the immigration inspection to apply for the entry permit, which will be stamped on your passport indicating the allowed stay time. Remember to tell the officer if you have a visa for China but don’t want to use it this time.


How to count the layover time of 144 hours?


It counts from 00:00 of the day following passengers’ arrival. That is to say, the allowed time to stay is actually longer than 144 hours.


Eg: If one arrives at 6:00 am on July 1, the layover time counts from 00:00 of July 2 and the passenger should hold a ticket with the scheduled departure time before 23:59 of July 7. In this case, the allowed stay period is 162 hours in maximum.



Hot Tags: 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit in China, in China, for foreigner, new, latest


Online Service